[TRANSLATION]月下独酌 – Drinking lonely with the moon

11132k315-0

 

Drinking lonely with the moon

Author: Bai Li(AD701-AD762, Tang Dynasty)

Translator: Lei Fan 2016 in Chicago

 

Surrounded by flowers, holding a flagon, I drink lonely.

Raising the cup, toasting to the moon, adding my shadow make us three.

Moon can not drink, shadow just follows,

Alas! Then moon and shadow, myself, carpe diem!

I am chanting, with the moonlight wandering,

Dancing feverishly, my shadow tingling,

Let’s enjoy this unrestrained moment while I am awake,

but when drunken, we separate, I could not find neither of you.

How can I secure our friendship eternally?

I yearn to meander with you along the river of stellar.

 

月下独酌
李白
花间一壶酒,独酌无相亲。
举杯邀明月,对影成三人。
月既不解饮,影徒随我身。
暂伴月将影,行乐须及春。
我歌月徘徊,我舞影凌乱。
醒时同交欢,醉后各分散。
永结无情游,相期邈云汉。

Image Courtesy: 作者:王子武 http://www.sxlcghy.com/

Leave a Reply

