[TRANSLATION]玉壶吟 – Song of Jade Flagon

main201404241755000245382937751

Song of Jade Flagon

Author: Bai Li(AD701-AD762, Tang Dynasty)

Translator: Lei Fan 2016 in Chicago

 

I slap the jade flagon, chanting loudly,

Full of aspirations, unfortunately I am at my declining age.

Waving my long sword, dancing under the moon, after three cups of wine,

Suddenly, I raise my tone, can not stop but shed my tears.

I could still recollect when I first arrived at forbidden city, with edict in my hands,

In a royal feast, people with power and prestige all raised their cups.

I praised almighty emperor’s deeds and merits,

I looked down upon and sneered at those who claimed to be noblemen.

I rode those bestowed horses to go to the imperial court,

What in my hand was the white jaded coral whip.

Now like no one can understand deranged Shuo Dongfang,

I also started my reclusive, unfettered life behind this palace wall.

There once was a stunning belle called Shi Xi, whose every smile was elegant,

Those who tried to imitate, eventually became pillories.

I know emperor is fond of imperial concubines with crescent eyebrows,

Alas! It is the covetousness and jealousness which murder those true beauties!

玉壶吟

作者:李白

原文:

烈士击玉壶,壮心惜暮年。
三杯拂剑舞秋月,忽然高咏涕泗涟。
凤凰初下紫泥诏,谒帝称觞登御筵。
揄扬九重万乘主,谑浪赤墀青琐贤。
朝天数换飞龙马,敕赐珊瑚白玉鞭。
世人不识东方朔,大隐金门是谪仙。
西施宜笑复宜颦,丑女效之徒累身。
君王虽爱蛾眉好,无奈宫中妒杀人!

Image Courtesy: 文史  古人宴飲圖(網絡圖)
Leave a Reply

