[TRANSLATION]寄王屋山人孟大融 – A poem for Darong Meng who lives in Mountain Wangwu

1432704269-3795127284_n

A poem for Darong Meng who lives in Mountain Wangwu

Author: Bai Li(AD701-AD762, Tang Dynasty)

Translator: Lei Fan 2016 in Chicago

 

I used to get inebriated on the ocean at far east.

I used to devour the purple afterglow on Mount Lao.

I once met Qigong An who lived thousand years,

The date ate by him was as big as a fresh squash.

I started to serve our emperor at my middle age,

Decided to leave the court and travel around.

Once young and handsome face has lost its gloss,

Grey and silver hairs have climbed onto my head.

What I crave for now is the celestially brewed wines,

helping me step onto the carriage able to reach clouds.

I am willing to follow you my mentor to the temple of heaven,

Where I could sweep the falling flowers with deities at leisure.

寄王屋山人孟大融
我昔东海上,劳山餐紫霞。亲见安期公,食枣大如瓜
中年谒汉主,不惬还归家。朱颜谢春辉,白发见生涯。
所期就金液,飞步登云车。愿随夫子天坛上,闲与仙人扫落花。
Leave a Reply

