[TRANSLATION]寄东鲁二稚子 – A poem for my two young kids in Dong Lu

14616451111002

A poem for my two young kids in Dong Lu

Author: Bai Li(AD701-AD762, Tang Dynasty)

Translator: Lei Fan 2016 in Chicago

 

Mulberry leaves have turned green in my hometown Wu,

Silkworms there have gone through three molts already.

My entire family is now moved to Dong Lu,

Who helps with plowing the farmland north of Mount Gui?

I probably will miss the spring seeding this year,

Walk along the river banks, I am anxious and at a loss.

Breeze from south gently waves through my homing heart,

Bring it back to the wine house in my village.

There is a peach tree standing at the east of the house,

Luxuriant leaves sway like curling green smokes.

I planted this tree a while back,

I have not seen it for three years.

It is now with the same height as the wine house,

I however have not yet returned.

My little daughter, her name is Yang Ping,

She picks a peach flower, standing next to the tree,

She is waiting for me, with the flower in her hand.

I am a guest in a strange land, her tears are falling.

I have a little son, his name is Qin Bo,

He stands next to her sister, almost same height, side by side.

Two young kids stand underneath the tall tree,

who will pad their backs and show them care of a dad?

My thought stops right there,

Day by day, my sorrow-stricken heart gets tormented.

I spread out a roll of white silk,

Write down this poem, as if I have already returned to my hometown.

 

 

寄东鲁二稚子
吴地桑叶绿,吴蚕已三眠。
我家寄东鲁,谁种龟阴田?
春事已不及,江行复茫然。
南风吹归心,飞堕酒楼前。
楼东一株桃,枝叶拂青烟。
此树我所种,别来向三年。
桃今与楼齐,我行尚未旋。
娇女字平阳,折花倚桃边。
折花不见我,泪下如流泉。
小儿名伯禽,与姊亦齐肩。
双行桃树下,抚背复谁怜?
念此失次第,肝肠日忧煎。
裂素写远意,因之汶阳川。
Image Courtesy: 中国传统文化社区髫年梢头初长成, 聘裊春风二月初。
Leave a Reply

