[TRANSLATION]登峨眉山– Climb Mount Er’Mei

201512151626555527910512

Climb Mount Er’Mei

Author: Bai Li(AD701-AD762, Tang Dynasty)

Translator: Lei Fan 2016 in Chicago

 

There are many celestial mountains in land of Shu,

Among them, no one could compare to Mount Er’Mei.

I attempt to climb, journey around for the views,

How can I appreciate magnificent scenes all at once?

Aeruginous peaks outline the immense sky,

Luxuriant and vivid hues like they are on canvas.

Amused by the floating purple cloud around me,

I feel I almost harness the spells of immortality.

In the clouds, melodies fly out from my jade flute,

Sitting by cliff, I start to play my precious zither.

Seeking for eternity in my whole life,

The pleasure and sin of the profane world, ends here.

My face fades into the air full of celestial energy,

The philistine anxiety and distress suddenly vapour.

If I meet the saints who ride goats on the winding path,

I will walk with them hand in hand, leap across the shining sun.

 

 

登峨眉山
蜀国多仙山,峨眉邈难匹。
周流试登览,绝怪安可悉?
青冥倚天开,彩错疑画出。
泠然紫霞赏,果得锦囊术。
云间吟琼箫,石上弄宝瑟。
平生有微尚,欢笑自此毕。
烟容如在颜,尘累忽相失。
倘逢骑羊子,携手凌白日。
Image Courtesy: 广州市皇玛拍卖有限公司- 六九艺术网0192 施云翔峨眉仙山秀绝图
Leave a Reply

