[TRANSLATION]庭前晚開花– Flower blossoms late in my backyard

003thyoqzy6rev3syfj11690

Flower blossoms late in my backyard

Author: Bai Li(AD701-AD762, Tang Dynasty)

Translator: Lei Fan 2016 in Chicago

 

What planted in my yard is the peach tree belongs to Queen of West Heaven Court,

It will only start blossoming after three thousand springs and falls.

People laugh at me for such late fruiting that I myself will not be able to enjoy,

Unfortunately short sighted will never understand the priceless treasure worth the wait.

 

 

前晚開花 

西王母桃種我家,三千陽春始一花。 

結實苦遲為人笑,攀折唧唧長咨嗟。

 

Image Courtesy: 农历三月初三王母娘娘蟠桃会blog.sina.com.cn

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

