[TRANSLATION] 望终南山寄紫阁隐者 – Staring at Mount Zhongnan, a Poem Written for Hermit lived on Peak Purple Palace

9ac2d1eftc65b90845995690

Staring at Mount Zhongnan, a Poem Written for Hermit lived on Peak Purple Palace

Author: Bai Li(AD701-AD762, Tang Dynasty)

Translator: Lei Fan 2017 in Chicago

 

 

 

Walking out of the door, I start at the mountains in south,
My sensation gets aroused, boundlessly, into infinity.
I can hardly find a word describing the beautiful scenes,
Everyday, the green pines and mountains stand right in front of me.
White clouds float and roll, when the wind is blowing,
Stretch themselves freely at the edge of the heaven.
My soul has harmonized with what I have seen, seamlessly,
My mind is set peace and free with my spirit enchanted.
When can I visit the hermit who lives on Peak Purple Palace,
Escaping the clamorous world of mortals, follow him on the precipice.
望终南山寄紫阁隐者
出门见南山,引领意无限。
秀色难为名,苍翠日在眼。
有时白云起,天际自舒卷。
心中与之然,托兴每不浅。
何当造幽人,灭迹栖绝巘。
Image Courtesy:新浪博客终南山文化–诗书画全集
Leave a Reply

