[TRANSLATION]灞陵行送别 – Farewell before my trip to Balin

image

Farewell before my trip to Balin

Author: Bai Li(AD701-AD762, Tang Dynasty)

Translator: Lei Fan 2017 in Chicago

 

See you off at Pavilion Balin,

Mighty River Ba is moving and roaring.

I look up, ancient trees stand there without flowers,

I look down, grasses grow luxuriantly and sorrowfully.

I ask a local where this winding path leads to,

Poet Can Wang used to escape the upheaval from here, he says.

To my surprise this mazy road detours to the capital city,

Close to sunset, the palace is surrounded by dark clouds.

In this heartbroken and despair dusk,

I could not bear to listen to the sad songs by the orioles.

灞陵行送别
送君灞陵亭,灞水流浩浩。
上有无花之古树,下有伤心之春草。
我向秦人问路岐,云是王粲南登之古道。
古道连绵走西京,紫阙落日浮云生。
正当今夕断肠处,黄鹂愁绝不忍听
Leave a Reply

