[TRANSLATION]来日大难 – Catastrophe will come next day

brt026221800110

Catastrophe will come next day

Author: Bai Li(AD701-AD762, Tang Dynasty)

Translator: Lei Fan 2017 in Chicago

 

Next day I am all by myself,

Carry bundles of food and firewood.

Step onto a long journey while supplies gone fast,

My throat is dry and my lips are cracked.

As long as I could still feed myself today,

Why do I need to worry about following springs?

Those celestial beings who care of me,

Persuade me to follow them, pursuing immortality.

Visit the three mystic mountains across the ocean,

Rest on top of the five sacred mountains on earth.

Circle the sky by riding a dragon,

Watch its two horns from its back.

He awards me a handful of elixirs,

So that I could live thousand years.

Humble as cicada knows appreciation,

I am ashamed my life is too short to repay.

Although it’s ambitious for me to fill the east ocean,

I will try my best even just with one branch.

Follow the principles and enlightment of the universe,

Like legend emperor Xuanyuan apprenticed to ancient gods.

I am determined to devote myself to eternal life,

People in power weighs as cicada’s wings in my eyes.

Loud sneers and quips from those rabbles,

No difference than humming of flies in the air.

 

 

来日大难
来日一身,携粮负薪。
道长食尽,苦口焦唇。
今日醉饱,乐过千春。
仙人相存,诱我远学。
海凌三山,陆憩五岳。
乘龙天飞,目瞻两角。
授以神药,金丹满握。
蟪蛄蒙恩,深愧短促。
思填东海,强衔一木。
道重天地,轩师广成。
蝉翼九五,以求长生。
下士大笑,如苍蝇声
Image Courtesy: 黄帝见广成子庄树鸿- 雅昌艺术网
Leave a Reply

